American Academy of Arts and Sciences Elects Danny Reinberg, Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Pharmacology, to 2012 Class of Fellows

NYU School of Medicine Professor Joins World Leaders in Academia, Business, Public Affairs, Humanities and the Arts

April 17, 2012 - 12:33pm


NYU School of Medicine is pleased to announce that The American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS) has elected Danny Reinberg, PhD, professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Pharmacology at NYU School of Medicine, to this year’s class of Fellows.
Dr. Reinberg, a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator who has co-edited an authoritative textbook on epigenetics, has spent 30 years studying how genes are expressed in cells and ultimately translated into proteins, the building blocks of life. Most significantly, he has discovered some of the key enzymes that control access to DNA in its cellular form, where it is curled tightly around proteins called histones in a complex called chromatin. This access is crucial to the development of specific cell types during embryonic development. 
Some of the world's most accomplished leaders, including Reinberg, from academia, business, public affairs, the humanities, and the arts have been elected members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. They join Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton, Amazon founder Jeffrey Bezos, Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation philanthropist Melinda F. Gates and actor Clint Eastwood as 2012 AAAS fellows. 
“Danny is a brilliant scientist and a gifted mentor and teacher,” said Dafna Bar-Sagi, PhD, senior vice president and vice dean for Science and chief scientific officer at NYU School of Medicine. “He always asks big questions, never takes the easy route, and inspires the rest of the faculty to tackle challenging research problems. We are honored to have Danny as a member of our faculty."
The new class will be inducted at a ceremony on October 6 at the Academy’s headquarters in Cambridge, Massachusetts.
Founded in 1780 by John Adams, James Bowdoin, John Hancock, and others, AAAS has elected as fellows and foreign honorary members the finest minds and most influential leaders from each generation, including George Washington and Ben Franklin in the 18th century, Daniel Webster and Ralph Waldo Emerson in the 19th, and Albert Einstein and Winston Churchill in the 20th. The current membership includes more than 250 Nobel Laureates and more than 60 Pulitzer Prize winners.
Media Inquiries: Jessica Guenzel 
212-404-3591 office